Music finds: A

Standard

Three of the artists beginning with A I’ve recently found!

Angus and Julia Stone – A brother/sister duo from Sydney, apparently UK journalist Johnny Sharp said: “Most impressive, though, are the songs – simple but blindingly effective acoustic compositions, warm boy-girl harmonies and delicate, less-is-more arrangements. Resistance is surely futile.” Terrific background music for whatever you’re getting on with.

Worth a listen – Another day.
Give it a miss – Babylon.
Website – www.angusandjuliastone.com

WASTED- I don’t know if I’ll survive/In this magical land behind your eyes/And there’s all these funny little men/They’re all asking me to dance and sing.

Anjulie – From her website: “With her unique voice, disarmingly frank lyrics, melodic gifts, and exotic good looks, singer and songwriter Anjulie announces herself as a commanding new presence on the music scene. On her self-titled debut album, the Los Angeles-based songwriter comes across as a confident young woman who examines her life, loves, obsessions, and heartbreaks with fearless introspection.”

Worth a listen – Boom.
Give it a miss – Fatal attraction.
Website – www.anjuliemusic.com.

DAY WILL SOON COME – I tried and I tried again but I could never conceive/What you wanted so so badly/Now I’m drowning in my dreams/And I don’t know just where I’m going.

Anna Nalick – From her website: “Anna Nalick first broke onto the music scene in April of 2005 with the release of her debut album Wreck of the Day. Featuring heartfelt lyrics and haunting melodies, Wreck of the Day showcased Anna as a passionate and honest songwriter.”

Worth a listen – Paper bag.
Give it a miss -Satellite.
Website – www.annanalick.com.

SHINE – Oh the night makes you a star/And it holds you cold in its arms/You’re the one to whom nobody verses “I love you”/Unless you say it first.

Leave a Reply

